Is AGS the right tool for this

Started by iliveinasquare, Thu 29/09/2022 14:17:39

Previous topic - Next topic

iliveinasquare

Hi everyone,

I came across AGS while looking at this game - https://www.thecrimsondiamond.com/index.html and I have had an idea for making my own game for a while.

I'm not sure if it would be suitable for AGS but here goes:

I am a photographer by trade and I have always been interested in point and click games but my idea is more simple:

To use pixellated still imagery of a location and allow the player to navigate it as a first person view (similar to Myst) but without any animation, just able to point in whichever direction, move around the world and have some ambient sounds playing in whichever location I may be in. The player will not be interacting with any objects (yet)

I have already got the sound and images ready in a format that I want and also have the layout of the place in which the player can navigate through (forward, back, left, right). I just need some software to be able to put these assets together in a playable format.

Is this possible with AGS?

Hope this is clear!

Thanks for your time

iliveinasquare

Another similar game which has the same control method that I am trying to replicate, is The X Files for PC, only the parts where you see the hand cursor and can move around the environment.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=49epkEdmVA0

Also this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z0tCeS0EzSM&t=47s

Thanks

InfernalGrape

I'm still learning AGS and don't know it fully, but I think it could fit your idea.
You can make player invisible so it becomes "first person view" and I think there are some ways to go change from one "screen" to "other".

Kastchey

Each of these is 100% possible with AGS, and don't know about others but "The Room Without You In It" is even an AGS game :)