At what age do you introduce a child to gaming?

Started by Retro Wolf, Sun 28/09/2014 19:05:56

Previous topic - Next topic

Retro Wolf

My son is 2, he likes to watch me play Sonic Adventure on the ps3.
Today I handed the controller over just to see what would happen, obviously all he can do is spin round and jump.
Does anyone here recommend an age to get them into gaming? What games did you play?
The cool thing is that being an amateur games developer, I could make games for him, one day even with him. That would have been amazing if I could have done that with my Dad as a kid, I'm going to be the coolest Dad at school!

Adeel

I've been playing games since I was merely six (when I got my first computer i.e. Pentium II). 12 years have passed since then and I've played hundreds of games belonging to many genres (and still continue to do so). My first ever game (which I recall playing by myself i.e. not with the help of my father) was MS-DOS Based Platformer known as Dangerous Dave.

Imho, there's not any defined minimum age to get a child into gaming (since the children these days are lot smarter). But you'll have to keep an eye as to what type of games are they playing, obviously. Edutainment games are the best for young kids because they not only provide entertainment but education as well (which would help them in their studies too - though admittedly I didn't play any edutainment games but one and I was a bright student in the school :P). Retro Platformers such as Dangerous Dave, Super Mario are quite excellent too.

And, yes, the idea of developing games with your children is quite exciting but you'll have to wait for sometime for that to happen.  ;)

Babar